This is the "Articles" page of the "Poetry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Last Updated: May 5, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page

Journal Finder

0-9  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Other

Google Scholar

Want Google Scholar to detect when Moye Library has access to an article?

Top Poetry Databases

  • Literature Criticism Online
    Galeā„¢ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Centuries of scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals to include thousands of essays.
  • Literary Reference Center Plus
    Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
  • American Poetry
    Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville.
  • African-American Poetry
    Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.
  • OmniFile
    Articles, podcasts, and video podcasts covering art, agriculture, business, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.

Additional Poetry Databases

  • English Poetry
    Find poems written from 600 to 1900 including Thomas Percy, Walter Scott, Robert Dodsley, Francis Turner Palgrave, and more.
  • Faber Poetry Library
    Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath and more.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
  • Twentieth-Century African-American Poetry
    62 of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
  • Twentieth-Century American Poetry
    A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.
  • Twentieth-Century English Poetry
    Modernist poems (1900-1999): W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, D.H. Lawrence, Carol Ann Duffy, and more.

Selected Poetry Journals

  • Poetry Magazine
    Poetry, commentary news notes and lists of recently published books published by the Modern Poetry Association.
  • Poetry Nation
    Contains Poetry Library's free access non-profit-making online archive of English 20th and 21st century poetry magazines to include poems, prose, articles and some artwork. Part of the library's ongoing digitisation project funded by the Arts Council England.
  • Poetics Today
    Brings together scholars from throughout the world who are concerned with developing systematic approaches to the study of literature. Presents a remarkable diversity of methodologies & examines a wide range of literary & critical topics.

Search & Help

Oasis Search Box

Moye Library Catalog

For Standard Search or Enhanced Search click here


Loading  Loading...