Accessing these Materials
Databases and eBooks on this site are available to UMO students, faculty, and staff. Public access may be available through your local library (see below for details). Links to public online content (Examples: the virtual tours in See the Sights from your Sofa and the managing stress webpage of the CDC are available to the public. See below for more details on accessing these materials.
UMO Community
Access to online materials at Moye Library is available to UMO students, faculty, and staff. The same login that you use for Moodle can be used to verify your identity for off-campus access.
Public Access
Moye Library does not provide public access to online materials. However, the resources featured here may be available via NCLive through your public library. Copy and paste a title from this guide to see if your local library has access to the resource or visit NCLive through your local library to access collections like Mango Languages and the Homegrown eBook Collection. Don't have a public library card? Reach out to your public library and ask if they are providing temporary library cards for digital access. Some libraries are doing this to address the need for online resources during the pandemic.
Learn from your Living Room
- Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new windowLearn a new language! Sign up or use as a guest. Use the Mango app to learn on your phone and download lessons in advance to use without internet access.
- LearningExpress Library Complete and PrepSTEP Academic This link opens in a new windowIncludes math, writing, and technology tutorials (including Microsoft Excel). Also includes in-depth information on college, graduate, and professional programs, professional training, scholarships, and entrance tests alongside practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exams. This database also includes eBooks on various test preparation subjects.
- ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new windowAn award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.
- ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new windowOnline learning resource for K-12 aimed at literature and language
- NoveList Plus This link opens in a new windowA readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.
- Films on Demand Technical Education Videosonline instructional videos on practical skills
- Learn American Sign Language with Films on Demandstreaming video teaching and education about ASL
Fun with STEM
- NASA Space Playinteractive science learning site for kids
- Scratch.comfree online tool that teaches basic coding skills through gaming
- Education Curation from Homegrown eBooks Collectioneducational eBooks including books of kids activities
See the Sights (from your Sofa)
- The Louvre, Online Toursonline tours of Paris' most famous art museum
- Google Arts and Culture, Streetviewexplore global sites, landmarks, and topics in this curated collection from Google Arts and Culture
- Smithsonian Online Exhibitsall online exhibits from the Smithsonian Institution
- National Museum of American History, Online Exhibitsdigital exhibits on American history
- Library of Congress Digital ExhibitsOnline exhibits on a variety of topics, featuring Library of Congress collections
- National Marine Sanctuaries, Virtual DivesStay inside and stay dry while experiencing a deep-sea dive online.
- National Parks Service Online Hikes and ToursNational Parks Service and Google Arts and Culture partner to offer you online outdoor experiences
- National Museum of Natural History, Virtual Museum Tourfloor-by-floor 360 view of America's natural history museum
- Animal Cams from the San Diego ZooPenguins, tigers, and polar bears, oh my! Watch these playful creatures in their zoo habitat from home. Find activity sheets and games to go along with your animal adventures near the top of the zoo website.
- Aquarium Webcam from the Georgia AquariumWatch whales, penguins, and alligators in their aquarium home!
- National Women's History Museum, Online Exhibitsdigital exhibits about women who made American history
- Tour Shakespeare's Globe Theater360 tour of Shakespeare's Globe theater in London
Explore your Family Tree (Online)
- HeritageQuest This link opens in a new windowTreasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
- PBS Genealogy Roadshow: Tips to Get Startedgeneral tips on getting started with genealogy with links to more specific subjects
- Genealogy Videos from Films on DemandIncludes genealogy documentary Find your Roots in addition to some instructional and historical content
Go Beyond Netflix (Free Streaming Video)
- The American Experience, PBSstreaming documentary series on American history
- Associated Press Archivestreaming video from the archive of the Associated Press
- British Movietoneworld's largest newsreel archive with many reels digitized and available to stream
- Folkstreams, Streaming Video from the American Folklife CollectionStreaming video relevant to folkways in American history
- Metropolitan Opera, Free Nightly Streaming Performancefree to the public streaming videos of the MET's performances brought to your home digitally
- Most Popular Titles, Films on Demandthe most popular titles in the Films on Demand database, updated regularly
- Shakespeare's Globe Theater, Free Streaming Premiersfree streaming performances for the public
- Stuck at Home Collection, Films on Demanda collection of popular films from our Films on Demand database, selected to make staying in more sustainable
- TED Talksinspiring lectures from the world's great thinkers, innovators, movers, and shakers
- Popular Categories in Films on DemandExplore the most popular topics in Films on Demand in this series of custom video lists
- Entertainment Collection in Films on Demandall entertainment titles in Films on Demand
- Music and Dance Collection in Filma curation of music, dance, and performance to enjoy at home
- Documentaries and Live Performances from Films on Demandcollection of live music performances and documentaries, includes opera, symphony performances, bluegrass, and features from Ken Burns' country music documentary
Baked Goodies to Share (on Instagram)
Cupcake Envy by ISBN: 9780804843683Publication Date: 2015-01-27Break out of the traditional cupcake mold and make incredibly fun and creative mini cakes with Cupcake Envy! These clever single-serving cakelets assume beloved forms that will appeal to all the special people in your life. Bake exquisite treats that resemble a stylish party dress, a desktop humidor, a cheery coffee cup, an adorable baby bottle, a wicked voodoo doll, a stylish purse--and more than two dozen other amazing likenesses that will be the talk of the town! It's easy to prepare the cakes just by using common pans that are already in your kitchen. Author Amy Eilert is a self-taught cake designer whose love of baking and working with her hands found a perfect outlet in cake making. She founded Cupcake Envy in Wake Forest, North Carolina in 2006. Her cakes have made a big splash both locally and nationally with appearances on DailyCandy.com and the Ugly Betty show. Eilert's instructions are easy to follow, and you can really apply your own creativity to each of the designs. If you don't like flowers, make polka-dots instead. Do you prefer purple instead of red? Go for it! You're in control. Even if you don't have an aptitude for baking, you will enjoy decorating these mini cakes. Every cake can be made with a simple box of cake mix and store-bought toppings, giving you more time to devote to the fun and creative parts of the process--shaping and decorating the cakes. For anyone looking for ways to make special occasions even more memorable, Cupcake Envy is the delicious and crafty cookbook for you!
Cupcakes with Attitude by ISBN: 9789814361019Publication Date: 2012-04-01Cupcakes with Attitudeis a trove of novel recipes for sweet treats with a twist of individuality. Jazz up any occasion and cater to any preferences with this wide-ranging collection of sensational creations. Indulge in sultry alcoholic concoctions such as Mojito Calling and James Bond Cupcakes, and the decadent Chocolate Addiction. Asian-inspired creations like Teh Si Cupcakes and Kaya Surprise are infused with fragrant spices and popular Asian ingredients. The health-conscious can indulge lighter alternatives that include flour-less and egg-less cupcakes, such as KiwiVegan and Gluten-free Cupcakes. To sweeten the deal, a handful of ideas for serving cake pops with style are included. With a variety of enticing frosting recipes, from the well-loved chocolate ganaches and cheese frostings to intriguing fusions such as Orange Vodka Glaze and Coconut Tum Frosting, it's time to serve up chic, luscious treats with creative style!
From No-Knead to Sourdough by ISBN: 9780865718838Publication Date: 2018-06-26Create delicious, healthy breads in your own kitchen - no experience required Is there any food that evokes pleasant memories and warm feelings more than bread? It's the most basic of foods, yet many of us are intimidated by the prospect of making our own. "Artisan" bread, craft bakeries, and wood-fired pizza are gaining popularity -- imagine creating these fabulous breads at home. With From No-Knead to Sourdough, author Victoria Redhed Miller blends her own journey toward self-reliance with her fascination for traditional homesteading skills and love of good food. From making simple yeast breads, to learning how to bake a wide variety of sourdough-based breads, the author's curiosity and fearlessness come together to share with readers a simpler approach to the pleasures of bread-baking. Topics include: Fitting bread-baking into your schedule Low- and no-gluten baking, including GF sourdough breads Using a wood-fired oven Recipes for every comfort zone, from flatbread to sourdough "Sexy science talk" sidebars for those interested in the science of baking. From No-Knead to Sourdough will inspire the beginner and the accomplished baker alike to find their own comfort zone and move on to new skills when they are ready. Pizza and bagels, flatbreads and loaf breads, even gluten-free breads -- you become the artisan when you make your own bread.
Sugar Pie and Jelly Roll by ISBN: 9781565122758Publication Date: 2000-06-10Raised on a farm in North Carolina, Robbin Gourley started baking as a child the day she got her first toy oven. She's been producing beautiful paintings for almost as long. Her newest cookbook is a perfect combination of all of Gourley's talents, bringing together over sixty of her classic Southern dessert recipes (ranging from Chocolate Chess Pie to Syllabub), and over seventy-five of her delicate watercolors. Taking us back through reminiscences of her youth, Gourley shares how sweets wound their way through her childhood and family: the Raspberry Summer Pudding that her mother made with their freshly picked berries, the Pumpkin Chiffon Pie her uncle couldn't resist, and the Sugar-Crust Pound Cake that became her father's favorite. Divided into sections, the cookbook features easy-to-follow recipes for Pies, Crisps, and Crumbles; Puddings and Custards; Candy, Cookies and Bars; Favorite Cakes;Chilled and Spirited Desserts; Embellishments and Sauces. Just the thing to round out the meal, Sugar Pie and Jelly Roll makes creating desserts as much fun as helping them disappear.
Sweetness by ISBN: 9780761189428Publication Date: 2016-11-07With her signature Southern charm and down-to-earth wisdom and wit, Christy Jordan offers more than 195 recipes for delectable, homespun sweets--not only desserts (though there are plenty of those), but also muffins and quick breads; frozen treats; decadent sauces, including rich and gooey ice cream toppings; sweet snacks like Sugar-and-Spice Pecans and Caramel Corn; fruit salads; simple candies and three kinds of fudge; even drinks--think virgin punches, egg creams, smoothies, shakes, and of course, sweet tea. All served up with sweet memories and ruminations on sweetness (wherein sweetness is often synonymous with joy) that inspire us to recognize it, savor it, cultivate it, and celebrate it.
Treat Yourself! by ISBN: 9780761189800Publication Date: 2017-08-0893 cool and creative crowd-pleasing projects that begin with just butter, marshmallows, and crispy rice. From individual apples to a graphic zebra large enough for a party, here are 93 ridiculously fun no-bake rice treats. Just mix, shape (with help of 75 printable templates), decorate, and done! From donuts to dinosaurs--and a robot to a football stadium (to steal the show at your annual Super Bowl party)--these are easy, unique treats for birthdays, holidays, school events, and any other day that calls for dessert.
Family Meals for a Night In
101 One-Dish Dinners by ISBN: 9781612128412Publication Date: 2016-09-20One-dish is a winning formula for today's busy families. In 101 One-Dish Dinners, Andrea Chesman shows off the versatility of Dutch ovens, skillets, and casserole pans. Classic baked dishes like ham and potato gratin, chicken potpie, and vegetable lasagne go head-to-head with diverse stovetop suppers like jambalaya, seafood paella, and pad Thai. For those looking for something a little lighter but still filling, there are plenty of meal-in-a-bowl salads and timeless soups. Serve up a nourishing meal tonight with little fuss and fewer dishes!
The Healthy College Cookbook by ISBN: 9781580171267Publication Date: 1999-01-05For nearly a decade, The Healthy College Cookbook has offered time-pressed, budget-crunched students a simple way to enjoy home cooking in their own small apartment kitchens or even dorm rooms. Written by students for students, the book offers hundreds of simple, healthful alternatives to dreary cafeteria fare. The first edition was so successful it returned to print 17 times. Now, this best-selling cookbook has been revised, expanded, and enlivened for a new generation of students. One hundred brand-new recipes have been added to the old favorites, including expanded breakfast options, recipes for the ever-popular George Foreman Grill, new smoothie creations, and pizza toppings for storebought crusts, English muffins, and pita bases. Recipes require only a handful of easy-to-find ingredients. The book is packed with vegetarian options, and every recipe is as nutritious as it is delicious. Most can be prepared in less time than it takes to order pizza. Most college students are new to cooking, and The Healthy College Cookbook contains a wealth of information and tips for the novice. It explains cooking terms, describes common spices, and offers basic, sensible advice on stocking a kitchen with equipment and food staples. The book isn't just for novices, however. Even the most discerning young palates will appreciate zesty Garlic Green Beans with Tofu or lively Mandarin-Mint Salad. These recipes are so quick, so inexpensive, and so delicious that they're bound to become dinner party favorites, years past graduation.
Sheet Pan Suppers Meatless by ISBN: 9780761189930Publication Date: 2017-10-03Sheet Pan Suppers is back! This time, with 100 vegetarian recipes for satisfying, sumptuous full meals - all made on a sheet pan, and all meat-free. It's the one-pot meal reinvented with a healthy twist, and what is sure to become every busy cook's new favorite way of getting dinner on the table. There are recipes for complete meals, snacks, brunch, and even dessert, that require nothing more than a sheet pan, your oven, and Raquel Pelzel's inspired take on satisfying, delectable, vegetarian cooking.
Will It Skillet? by ISBN: 9780761187431Publication Date: 2017-04-04The author of Will It Waffle? is back! This time, he's serving up 53 creative, original recipes for the cast-iron skillet. It's another ode to a common kitchen tool, championing all of the convenience and charm of one-pan cooking. But wait--this isn't your run-of-the-mill book of skillet cooking! Instead, the innovative recipes will stretch the limits of what you once thought was possible, with creative delights from Eggs in a Basket to Bacon Potato Skillet Bread, from Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies to Gnocchi with Goat Cheese and Roasted Tomatoes to Pizza Dip (no crust, just serve this cheesy goodness with a baguette!). As clever as they may be, these recipes are not just a gimmick--they also capitalise on the technical strengths of the cast-iron skillet, using, for example, cast-iron's high heat searing power to transform shredded brussels sprouts into crunchy, sweetly caramelised flakes, and taking advantage of the stovetop-to-oven versatility for dishes like Chicken Pot Pie, Spinach and Feta Dip, and Tortilla Espanola. The skillet is an effective substitute for the char of the grill (Grilled Vegetable and Cheddar Nachos), a replacement for a cake pan (Chocolate Cake), or a stand-in for specialty equipment like the wok (Peanut and Tofu Stir-fry), or the paella pan (Seafood Paella, of course).
Want more?
Check out the food collection in NCLive's Homegrown eBook collection. The food-focused collection (below) is full of great ideas from North Carolina publishers.
Crafts from your Couch
Bust DIY Guide to Life by ISBN: 9781584798965Publication Date: 2011-10-01Whether it's sewing clothes, making cheese, or growing a garden, the modern appeal of "do-it-yourself" projects has a broader reach than ever. And who better to teach us how to DIY our lives than the über-crafty editors of BUST?
Singer: the Complete Photo Guide to Sewing, 3rd Edition by ISBN: 9781589238978Publication Date: 2017-11-21Singer: The Complete Photo Guide to Sewing, 3rd Edition is the essential one-stop reference every sewer needs. Step-by-step instructions and hundreds of photos and diagrams make it easy to understand sewing fundamentals and more advanced techniques for fashion and home décor projects. Discover the mysteries of your sewing machine! Learn ways to get the most out of your machine and attachments, the best tools to use, and how to sew with a variety of fabrics. Then dive into sewing techniques for beautiful garments and stunning home décor designs.
So Jane by ISBN: 9781423633235Publication Date: 2014-03-01For the Jane Austen enthusiast, or quite simply all the "Janeites" out there, So Jane will help them bring all things Austen into their homes, be it decorating, gift giving, or entertaining. With 30 craft ideas and 30 recipes organized into six chapters bearing the titles of Jane Austen's novels, enthusiasts can enjoy breakfast in Bath, via Northanger Abbey by creating Decorative Egg Cozies to keep their Soft-Boiled Eggs warm, or serveHoney-Lemon Teaspoons with Rose Petal Tea at the Middleton's of Sense and Sensibility. Enjoy a picnic that Emma would love to have shared with Mr. Knightly, or create an I Heart Mr. Darcy Pillow that all Elizabeth Bennett wannabes would love to cuddle up with.
The Spoonflower Quick-Sew Project Book by ISBN: 9781617690792Publication Date: 2018-10-09Stitch up a storm with more than 30 new stash-friendly projects from quilt and fabric lovers' favorite creative force: Spoonflower. Discover all that you can make with just a yard or two! Spoonflower--a design-your-own/print-on-demand fabric company known for its unique, clever, and must-have designs--presents simple step-by-step instructions that are accompanied by templates and pattern pieces. Here are dozens of brand-new projects designed to be completed in just a few hours. Get inspired and turn your favorite fabric into a lovely garland, stylish tote, children's tent, and all sorts of other accessories for home and fashion. With step-by-step tutorials and projects that span a wide spectrum of skills, this book is perfect for both new and experienced sewists. Designing fabric, wallpaper, and gift wrap used to be the stuff of dreams. Today, Spoonflower's technology allows anyone to affordably create, print, and purchase one-of-a-kind fabric or paper.
Trash to Treasure by ISBN: 9781938063183Publication Date: 2013-11-01With easy step-by-step instructions, this book will help kids get creative and recycle and repurpose their trash into handmade treasures. All projects feature common everyday items to reuse in a fun new way. From bottle-top pop art to felted tin-can organizers, kids will love making useful crafts and helping the environment. Great tips and advice on reusing, garage sales, and spotting treasures are also provided. So start your upcycling with these fabric, paper, metal, glass & ceramics,and odds & ends projects. Book includes: visual supply & tool lists, step-by-step instructions and photos, fun advice & tips, and safety information.
Weekend Handmade by ISBN: 9781584799405Publication Date: 2011-09-01In Weekend Handmade, author Kelly Wilkinson encourages readers to celebrate the joy of crafting, both for the satisfaction of making something by hand, and because the finished items serve as reminders of time taken to slow down and create - no matter the day of the week.
Want more?
Check out the Home, Family, and Lifestyle collection in NCLive's Homegrown eBook collection. The collection (below) is full of great ideas from North Carolina publishers.
Kids Corner
Below are resources specifically geared towards children. Includes materials for a wide age range, so please vet individual resources for suitability.
- Kids and YA eBooks from NCLive's Homegrown Collectiona selection of kids and young adult eBooks from North Carolina publishers
- Plimoth Plantation Thanksgiving Virtual Field TripTake a virtual tour of Plimoth Plantation! This free program is focused on the history of Thanksgiving. There are other virtual education opportunities on the site (some paid and some free) so explore around!
- National Agriculture in the Classroom Gamesinteractive games with an agriculture focus for kids-adults
- Kid and Teen Resources at the Smithsonian Institution,interactive games, digital exhibits, and more with a focus on K-12
Coping with Stress
- Stress and Coping for COVID-19official CDC site on managing stress, anxiety, and uncertainty in difficult times, includes resources in multiple languages
Breathe, Mama, Breathe by ISBN: 9781615193561Publication Date: 2017-01-03A National Parenting Product Award (NAPPA) Winner
Easy-to-follow practices that will help moms find quick, daily opportunities to reset and refocus with mindfulness.
Mindfulness Pocketbook by ISBN: 9780857085894Publication Date: 2015-04-13Gill Hasson, author of the bestselling Mindfulness isback and this time you can fit her advice in your pocket! This little book is packed with over 100 quick exercises, each dealing with a different situation, to help you get calm, collected, and balanced.
The Mindful Teen by ISBN: 9781626250802Publication Date: 2015-04-01In this powerful book, a pediatrician specializing in teen and adolescent medicine offers a breakthrough mindfulness program to help you deal with stress in healthy ways, improve communication, and reduce conflicts with family and friends.
