LibGuides: Academic Research in Education: Websites

Education Websites

Child Care & Early Education - Research Connections
Research Connections sponsors research on child care and early childhood education and has data sets that can be manipulated online.
Education Commission of the States - P-3 Early Learning
ECS website dedicated to issues related to learning and development of children from birth to age 8.
National Association for the Education of Young Children
NAEYC sponsors publications, conferences and accreditation.
National Head Start Association
NHSA's mission is to inspire and support the Head Start field as a leader in early childhood development and education.
U.S. Department of Education
The U.S. Department of Education website contains documents and program information.
Child Care & Early Education - Research Connections
Research Connections sponsors research on child care and early childhood education and has data sets that can be manipulated online.

Zero to Three
a website devoted to early childhood education and resilience, focused on babies to age three
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
US-based association promoting research-based practice in early childhood education

PACER Center
webinars, resources, and learning tools for student success and disability advocacy

Early Childhood News
The Early Childhood News is an online resource for teachers and parents of young children, infants to age 8.
Educator's Reference Desk
The Educator's Reference Desk has over 2,000 lesson plans. Provided by the Information Institute of Syracuse.
National Association of Early Childhood Educators
NAECTE advocates for improvements in early childhood teacher education and provide a forum for consideration of issues and concerns of interest to educators of early childhood teacher educators.
National Association of Special Education Teachers
NASET is the only national membership organization dedicated solely to meeting the needs of special education teachers and those preparing for the field of special education teaching.
PBS Resources for the Classroom
The PBS Resources for the Classroom has teacher resources for Pre-K through grade 12.
Scholastic Interactive Learning and Reading Activities for Students in Grades PreK-12
Smithsonian Education
Smithsonian Education has resources for educators, families and students
Southern Early Childhood Association
Since 1948 the Southern Early Childhood Association has brought together preschool, kindergarten, and primary teachers, administrators and program directors to promote quality care and education for young chlidren.
Zero to Three
Zero to Three focuses on research related to infants and toddlers.
EdHub: The Educator's Resource Network
Online library of open educational resources related to education research and practive

ETS
ETS provides information on student assessment, educator licensure, and specific tests such as Praxis Tests, TOEFL, etc.
50 State Certification List
maintained by the University of Kentucky College of Education
North Carolina Division of Child Development and Early Education
This division is responsible for standards and licensing of child care providers. It contains family child care and child care center handbooks.
North Carolina Institute for Child Development Professionals
The NCICDP provides information on ceritifcation and licensure in North Carolina.
North Carolina Professional's Educator's Licensure
The Licensure Section examines and issues professional educator's licenses in North Carolina. Website provides information on requirements for licensure.

Caldecott Award
The Association for Library Services for Children annually selects the best American picture book.
Newbery Award
The Association for Library Services for Children annually selects the most distinguished contribution to American Literature for children.
We Need Diverse Books
WNDB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit and a grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people. It includes book lists, educator resources, and more.

National Center for Education Statistics
The NCES has statistical information about US schools, students, and teachers. Includes Digest of Education Statistics.
North Carolina Statistical Profile
National Center of Education Statistics
complete repository of government education statistics

Smithsonian Institution Learning Lab for Educators
A wealth of digital tools support inquiry-based learning and active engagement to spark creativity and curiosity. The Smithsonian Learning Lab allows you to create personal collections and individualized educational experiences. The digital Game Center of the Smithsonian Science Education Center offers fun experiences for the young STEM learner. Smithsonian's History Explorer offers hundreds of free, innovative resources for learning about American history. This very website allows for exploration of our nation's rich treasures, science, and shared history. Stay in touch with the quarterly Smithsonian Education News.
Educator Resources, National Archives and Records Administration
a wealth of interactive educator resources, including DocsTeach
Digital Learning Tools from Digital Learning Day
a collection of digital learning tools for Digital Learning Day 2019
Scratch
coding and animation tool
Kahoot
smartphone compatible learning games