Skip to main content
644 James B. Hunt Dr.
Mount Olive, NC 28365
(919) 658-7869
644 James B. Hunt Dr., Mount Olive, NC 28365 | (919) 658-7869

Services

Collection Development

The faculty is encouraged to make recommendations for additions to the library collection in support of their curriculum. Choice book reviews will be circulated to the departments for suggestions for purchase. Order cards are available for submission of individual requests. Publisher catalog, brochures, etc. may be submitted providing choices are clearly marked. E-mail requests are accepted. Requests should be directed to Pamela Wood or Janelle Barbour.

The faculty is also encouraged to make recommendations regarding subscriptions to academic journals. Additions are subject to the approval of the department chairperson and the director of library services. Titles for consideration should be submitted in September. Subscriptions are usually on an annual basis, beginning January 1.

Electronic resource requests (databases, eBooks, electronic journals) should be made using the form linked here

When requested materials are available for use, the faculty member requesting the material will receive a notification slip or email. A list of all new materials cataloged is published monthly on the "New Books” page. A link to the "New Books" page is located above the search box on the Moye Library homepage. 

Reserves

Currently held library materials and the instructor’s personal copies of print material may be put on reserve at the circulation desk. The loan period is determined by the instructor. Typical loan periods are 2 hours, 1 day, 3 days, or one week. The default loan period is 2 hours of in-library use only. One copy of the material for reserve should be submitted. The library staff will determine the need for additional copies, including photocopies. Copyright guidelines must be followed. Please fill out the linked form below for each reserve request. The full PDF detailing our course reserve policy is available below the form link. 

Lending

Materials from the library collection are available for checkout to faculty for a period of three months. Audiovisual materials, including CDs and DVDs, are included. If materials are needed for a longer period, please contact Kelsey Chandler or Janelle Barbour. Faculty members at the locations other than Mount Olive may check Moye Library's online catalog for materials and request them to be mailed to the location.

Instruction for Classes

A librarian will provide customized information literacy instruction for your classes, highlighting holdings, electronic resources and research techniques related specifically to the course or assignment. For more information and to request a session, please contact Jackie Hill.

Research Assistance

Research assistance is available in-person and virtually for students, faculty, and staff. Most people make individual requests, but small group requests are also welcome and may be useful for group projects. 

We provide help in the following formats: 

  • In-person at Moye Library
  • Zoom 
  • Chat box on the library website (This service is 24/7, except on federal holidays when it is offline.) 
  • Email
  • Phone

Drop by the Reference Desk (in the Learning Commons at Moye Library) to see us in person or request a Zoom session. 

Research assistance can include anything from a quick question about finding a book to an in-depth, personalized session that will teach you how to search multiple databases and expertly navigate the research process.

We're able to help with anything related to the research process including developing your topic, finding and using library resources (books, eBooks, databases, etc.), evaluating the reliability and usefulness of information, citing sources, and much more. You can drop in once or meet with us regularly, depending on what works best for you. 

Research Assistance

Research assistance is available in-person and virtually for students, faculty, and staff. Most people make individual requests, but small group requests are also welcome and may be useful for group projects. 

We provide help in the following formats: 

  • In-person at Moye Library
  • Zoom 
  • Chat box on the library website (This service is 24/7, except on federal holidays when it is offline.) 
  • Email
  • Phone

Drop by the Reference Desk (in the Learning Commons at Moye Library) to see us in person or request a Zoom session. 

Research assistance can include anything from a quick question about finding a book to an in-depth, personalized session that will teach you how to search multiple databases and expertly navigate the research process.

We're able to help with anything related to the research process including developing your topic, finding and using library resources (books, eBooks, databases, etc.), evaluating the reliability and usefulness of information, citing sources, and much more. You can drop in once or meet with us regularly, depending on what works best for you. 

Copyright Information

Moye Library, University of Mount Olive, 2017