LibGuides: Copyright & Fair Use Guide: Open Educational Resources: Where to Find Open Materials

Where to Find Open Educational Resources

In addition to the resources on the Open Access Publishing page, there are many open access repositories directed specifically at providing free educational resources to students and faculty. We have listed several popular repositories below.

Have you found a resource that we should include on this page? Please email Library@umo.edu and let us know!

Open Materials by Content Type

Creative Commons Search
Search for free content in the public domain and in the creative commons.
Big List of OER, courtesy of University of Pittsburgh Libraries

These eBook repositories offer free, full-text eBooks for reading online and downloading. Many of these materials are library materials that are now in the public domain. The text and layout are not always easily navigable, so please preview works before assigning them. Many of the eBooks available via Moye Library are licensed for unlimited use, meaning multiple individuals can use them at once. If you would like to use more recent eBooks in the classroom, please check to see if Moye Library's eBook collections have what you need.

Pexels
freely usable images, mostly photographic
Unsplash
searchable database of photographs, optional artist credit is offered and recommended for these images
Getty Images
searchable image database, search using the "Royalty Free" filter under "License Type"
British Library Image Collection
NRCS Photo Gallery
The NRCS Photo Gallery contains natural resource and conservation related photos from across
the USA.
NOAA Photo Library
Public Domain Vectors
searchable database of vector images
The Visible Human Project
The NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995.

Mutopia
sheet music published under Creative Commons licensing, please reuse and attribute in accordance with the the license criteria

The Visible Human Project
The NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995.
ADE Toolkit OER Hub, Common Core for Educators
Adult Learning Zone: A Designers for Learning Project, OER Hub
EdHub: The Educators Resource Network OER Hub
Media Literacy Education and Youth Media OER Hub

OER Commons, Videos for the Classroom

Open Education North Carolina

Open Education North Carolina Homepage
Open Education North Carolina (OENC) is an NC LIVE initiative that aims to reduce the cost of higher education for North Carolina students by providing free, open textbooks for the most frequently taught courses across NC’s 2- and 4-year colleges and universities.

We're partnering with the UNC System, NC Independent Colleges & Universities, and NC Community Colleges to offer open education workshops across the state and to provide adoption grants to faculty and instructors who choose to adopt an open textbook.
OER Commons
open educational resources repository, including textbooks, lesson plans, learning tools, courses, assessment, and more. Covers K-Graduate Education.
OpexStax
open textbook repository aimed largely at higher education