LibGuides: Getting Started: Getting Started at Moye Library

Finding Databases, Articles, & Journals

Databases:

The Moye Library Databases page has all of the databases that you have access to through Moye Library. You can filter these databases by Subject, Type (Reference, Articles, Videos, Data & Statistics, News, eBooks, etc.), and Vendor.

Accessing Peer-Reviewed Articles:

You will be using peer-reviewed articles for most of your research at UMO. Peer-reviewed articles are usually research articles that go through a stringent review process by the author's peers in their chosen field of study. The review board doesn't have to necessarily agree with the author's opinion, but they have to agree that the research was in good faith and follow best practices. You can find peer-reviewed articles on the Moye Library Database page and filter the Type as Articles. After visiting and searching one of those Databases, you can usually filter for Peer Reviewed Articles on the left side of the results page. You may also use the WorldCat Discovery search box on the Moye Library homepage and filter for peer-reviewed articles on the left side of the results page.

Find Journal Titles:

You may also access articles by searching for a specific journal title using Journal Finder. When you search for a journal title in Journal Finder, you will see the publication date range of full-text access for that journal and what databases give you access to the journal. The database names are links that will take you to the journal's page in that database where you can search within the journal or browse by year, issue number, and volume number.

Access Databases Off-Campus:

Moye Library uses proxy authentication for the remote use of databases. When you are off-campus, you will be asked to sign in the same way you would sign into Moodle. As long as you do not close your browser, you will not have to sign in after the initial time. If you close your browser, you will be asked to sign in again.

Find & Borrow Books

Print Books:

Searching:

Moye Library uses WorldCat Discovery as their print book catalog. You can search the catalog by using the WorldCat Discovery search box on the Moye Library homepage. On the WorldCat Discovery results page on the left side, you can filter for Print Books under the Format heading.

By default, WorldCat Discovery is set to show books from all around the world, but you can filter that on the left side of the results page by clicking University of Mount Olive, Moye Library under the Held by Library heading.

You will know if the book is available if you see, on each entry on the results page, a green check with "Available" next to it and "Held by University of Mount Olive, Moye Library

Finding Books by Call Numbers:

Moye Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to create the Call Numbers for our books. Call Numbers are unique identification numbers for our physical collection that will enable you to find the books. In our catalog, you will find the Call Number on an item's page under the Moye Library section. You need the entire number. If you need help finding a book in the stacks, the Moye Library staff will be more than happy to help you.

Checking Out Books:

Students are allowed to check out as many books as they would like for 30 days. If books are needed longer, students can request a renewal.

eBooks:

Searching

There are a few ways that you can search for eBooks. The first is through the WorldCat Discovery search box on the Moye Library homepage by clicking, on the left side of the results page, eBook under the Format heading. You may also go to the Moye Library Databases page and filter by the Type and select eBooks. You will see about 15 different options, but the two main eBook databases are Ebook Central and eBooks on EBSCOhost.

Accessing eBooks from WorldCat Discovery

From WorldCat's Discovery item page, you may click the View eBook button in the top-right under the View eBook heading. You may also go down the entry's page to the Access Online section and select "View eBook" for a specific database.

From the eBook databases, you will be able to download the eBook as a pdf (most often) or, when available, an epub. You may also read online.

Interlibrary Loans

If Moye Library doesn't have access to a print book or article, you may request an Interlibrary Loan. The Interlibrary Loan program allows Moye Library to request materials from other schools. For more information, please see the Interlibrary Loans page.

Help & Support

Research Guides:

Research Guides are created for general Subjects, select Courses, and Topics. These Guides help guide you to helpful resources that have the best chance of you finding the information that you need.

Research Tools:

Research Tools are there to guide you through your research process from creating a Research Question to Strategic Searching to Citing your sources.

Citation Tools:

Citation Tools covers resources APA 7th ed., MLA 9th ed., and Chicago/Turabian 17th ed. There's also an Avoid Plagiarism section.

Tutorials:

Tutorials are created in different formats like pdf, videos, and websites. The tutorials cover Moye Library resources and also specific database resources created by vendors like EBSCOhost or ProQuest.

Webinars:

Moye Library offers Webinars via Zoom concerning various subjects to help students learn finding information using the Moye Library website and databases and learn different aspects of information literacy.

Copyright Info:

The Copyright Info page has general copyright information, copyright information concerning education, and Fair Use policies.

Services & Policies

Moye Library is not only for finding information sources. Moye Library is also used for studying where you will find single and group study spaces. There are also multiple rooms in the Learning Commons area (downstairs) that you can reserve for study sessions.

For the Faculty, Moye Library offers to hold instructional and reference sessions for your classes, create research guides and tutorials, and much more.

Moye Library also offers printing, duplication, and faxing services for the UMO community and the public.

WiFi is another service offered here at UMO and Moye Library. There are two different WiFi names in the library: if you are on the Learning Commons side, use "LearningCommons," and if you are on the Communications side, use "UMO-WiFi."

Related Links
Moye Library Services
Moye Library Policies