Skip to main content

Moye Library

Moye Library, 644 James B. Hunt Rd., Mount Olive, NC 28365

Moye Library Facebook
Moye Library Twitter

About

Mission

Moye Library exists to support the mission of the University of Mount Olive. To this end, the library seeks to provide to all University of Mount Olive students and faculty collections of materials and access to information resources in a variety of formats. The library also seeks to provide services that enhance the academic curricula, programs and activities.

The achievement of the mission of the library is sought through the following goals:

  • To acquire and maintain access to a working collection of print and electronic materials in support of the various courses and curricula, regardless of location by:
    • providing a general core collection of academic materials
    • faculty and library staff working together to acquire materials in support of specific majors and developing curriculum
    • providing various formats of materials to meet the needs of all students
  • To provide services to students and faculty which enhance their learning and resource needs by:
    • maintaining access to the resources though the catalog and various bibliographic databases
    • providing a staff of qualified professional and support persons
    • maintaining adequate and convenient hours of operation
    • providing bibliographic instruction to groups and individuals, through formal classes, workshops and electronic tutorials
    • establishing cooperative agreements with other libraries to augment the resources available to students
  • To provide materials for leisure and personal interest enrichment
  • To acquire and preserve historical materials relating to the history of the supporting denomination and its endeavors in Christian higher education and to serve as a repository for archival materials of the University itself
  • To evaluate the collection and services on a regular basis to assess the strengths and weaknesses of the resources and services by:
    • surveying both students and faculty
    • comparison with basic and specialized subject bibliographies
    • departmental evaluations

History

Moye Library, named for Reverend and Mrs. J.C. Moye who were active in the Free Will Baptist denomination, was completed in 1968. The library facilities were expanded with the completion of the companion Communications Building in 2006. The first floor houses the Reference Desk, reference collection, periodicals collection, the Everett Room, the Sawyer Room, and most staff offices. The Circulation Desk is located on the first floor of the main lobby joining the Communications Building and Moye Library. The Free Will Baptist Historical Collection, the Alumni Archives Collection, a music listening room and stacks occupy the second floor. On display throughout the building is a collection of woodcuts by Ukrainian artist Jacques Hnizdovsky.

Staff

Pamela R. Wood
Director of Library Services
E-mail: pwood@umo.edu
919-658-7753

Kelsey Chandler
Reference/Extended Services Librarian
E-mail: kchandler@umo.edu
919-658-7711

Heather Day
Cataloging & Technical Services Librarian
E-mail: hbraswell@umo.edu
919-299-4589

Jackie Hill
Instruction Librarian
E-mail: jhill@umo.edu
919-658-4917

Gary F. Barefoot
Curator, Free Will Baptist Historical Collection
E-mail: gbarefoot@umo.edu
919-658-7827

Beth Rose
Evening and Weekend Library Supervisor
E-mail: nrose@umo.edu
919-658-4912 (for weekend assistance)

Janelle Barbour
Administrative Assistant
E-mail: jbarbour@umo.edu
919-658-7869

Wes Warren
Library Clerk/Access Services
E-mail: jwarren@umo.edu 
919-658-4915  (for weekend assistance)

Katherine Wolfe
Library Assistant
E-mail: kwolfe@umo.edu
919-658-7710

Moye Library, University of Mount Olive, 2017