Skip to Main Content
644 James B. Hunt Dr.
Mount Olive, NC 28365
(919) 658-7869
644 James B. Hunt Dr., Mount Olive, NC 28365 | (919) 658-7869

About Moye Library: Mission/History

Mission

Moye Library exists to support the mission of the University of Mount Olive. To this end, the library seeks to provide collections of materials and access to information resources in a variety of formats to all University of Mount Olive students and faculty. The library also seeks to provide services that enhance the academic curricula, programs and activities of the University of Mount Olive.

The achievement of the mission of the library is sought through the following goals:

  • To acquire and maintain access to a working collection of print and electronic materials in support of the various courses and curricula for all students by:
    • providing a general core collection of academic materials
    • collaborating with faculty to acquire materials in support of specific majors and developing curricula
    • providing various formats of materials to meet the needs of all students
  • To provide services to students and faculty which enhance their learning and resource needs by:
    • maintaining access to the resources though the catalog and various bibliographic databases
    • providing a staff of qualified professional and support persons
    • maintaining adequate and convenient hours of operation
    • providing information literacy instruction to groups and individuals, through formal classes, workshops and electronic tutorials
    • establishing cooperative agreements with other libraries to augment the resources available to students
  • To provide materials for leisure and personal interest enrichment
  • To acquire and preserve historical materials relating to the history of the supporting denomination, the Original Free Will Baptist Church, and its endeavors in Christian higher education and to serve as a repository for archival materials of the University itself
  • To evaluate the collection and services on a regular basis to assess the strengths and weaknesses of the resources and services by:
    • surveying both students and faculty
    • comparing basic and specialized subject bibliographies
    • requesting departmental evaluations

History

Moye Library, named for Reverend and Mrs. J.C. Moye who were active in the Free Will Baptist denomination, was completed in 1968. The library facilities were expanded with the completion of the companion Communications Building in 2006. The first floor houses the Reference Desk, reference collection, periodicals collection, the Everett Room, the Sawyer Room, the Circulation Desk, most staff offices, and the Learning Commons. The Free Will Baptist Historical Collection, the University Archives Collection, and the simulation nursing lab occupy the second floor. On display throughout the building is a collection of woodcuts by Ukrainian artist Jacques Hnizdovsky.

University of Mount Olive, Moye Library (2022)