LibGuides: Farm and Agribusiness Management: Entrepreneurial Resources

General Resources

Minority and Women Farmers and Ranchers, USDA Farm Service Agency
Racial Diversity in Agriculture, Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
provides a variety of resources on racial diversity in agriculture, many of which extend beyond alternative farming and sustainable agriculture
Resources for Beginning Minority Farmers, National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
Small Farm Funding and Business Resources, Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
Information on resources for sustainable agriculture, including business overviews, planning resources, funding resources, and farm management guidance.
Start a Farm Resources, USDA Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
provides a variety of broad resources for beginning farmers and ranchers in all areas of agriculture
Start Farming Discovery Tool
a tool that allows farmers and prospective farmers to input information and find resources specific to their needs from USDA's new farmer resources
Veterans' Resources, USDA
homepage for veterans resources on USDA
New Farmers, USDA.org
Find the resources that you need to get started in agriculture. Includes resources for making a business plan and getting started with farming, leadership opportunities, and networking opportunities.

Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
This database is an essential tool for business students and researchers, providing the latest insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. It offers full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, as well as case studies and company profiles.
Business Link North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Programs and resources for people starting a new business or moving a business to North Carolina.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Small Farm Funding Resources Guide
a guide from the USDA on finding funding for small farms
Grants and Loans from the USDA
a comprehensive list of grant and load resources from the USDA applicable to a variety of situations
Funding Resources for Rural Areas, Rural Information Center
a listing of funding opportunities for rural communities
Rural Funding Resources, National Agricultural Library
includes grant-writing resources and funding opportunities for a variety of initiatives from farms to faith-based programs

Disaster Resource Center, USDA Resources for Farmers
information on emergency management and managing natural disasters in the agriculture industry