What is Proquest ETD Administrator?
Proquest ETD Administrator is a tool that allows graduate students to submit their theses and dissertations for inclusion in the Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global, a large-scale database of graduate theses and dissertations used by many research libraries. Your work may also be included in other dissertation databases. Citations and abstracts will be included in other academic databases and your work may be searchable via Google Scholar.
ETD Administrator allows each student to be in control of their submission process, choosing the submission options that best suit their current and future research needs. Once a student submits their paper, it will be approved by a ProQuest administrator at the University, completing the submission process.
Where will my thesis be available?
Unless you choose to embargo your work, your thesis will be available on ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global, within 8-12 weeks. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global adds more than 130,000 theses and dissertations annually. Currently, the databases contain citation information for theses and dissertation from the 18th century to the present, as well as full-text access to many dissertations and theses.
Can I find my submission once I submit it?
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is updated weekly. Theses are not searchable immediately following submission. Moye Library does not currently have access to ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.
Is my submission assigned a DOI after being accepted?
No. Once your submission is approved, your thesis will be assigned an Order Number. Your thesis can be found by searching for its assigned Order Number.
Will I get paid for my work?
If you choose the traditional publishing option, you will be eligible to receive royalties. Royalties will be paid once they reach $25.00 and will be rolled over if they do not reach $25.00 annually. Royalty payments amount to 10% of the net revenue that ProQuest earns from your work. In order to receive royalty payments, you need to register your permanent mailing address with ProQuest ETD Administrator.
Can my work be sold to a third-party seller (like Amazon)?
No. ProQuest no longer distributes materials to third-party sellers. Your work will only be available in select databases unless you choose a publication option that allows for greater distribution of your work.
Will my work be preserved forever?
ProQuest has a long-term digital curation plan which will, hopefully, maintain your academic work in the digital environment for many years. However, ProQuest is a proprietary entity. The availability of your work via ProQuest depends on ProQuest's long-term viability. It is strongly encouraged that you keep both paper and digital copies of your work. We also encourage you to follow best practices in the digital preservation of your research for both your data and your finished product. Electronic copies are as susceptible to damage and decay as paper copies. Researchers should plan the long-term preservation of their work accordingly. (Please consult with our Reference Librarian for more information and guidance on this topic.)
How do I get an ORCID?
You can sign up for an ORCID using the link below. You may also wish to explore other parts of this page to learn more about this identification system.