LibGuides: Education: News &amp; Current Events

News Databases

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Global Breaking Newswires provides timely access to newswire content from around the globe as well as growing archive of news.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major news content and includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. It also provides television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
The Associated Press Newswire (formerly AP NewsMonitor collection) is a full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press. When a link to a news story is clicked, you are brought to the Detailed Record and HTML Full Text of the story.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (Jan. 2, 1984-current).
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full articles from The Washington Post (1996-current).

Education Related Trade Journals

Education Week
Full-Text: 1/11/1995-Current in Academic Search Complete
more...less...
Education Week is an award-winning independent news organization that has covered K-12 education since 1981. It is known for providing both news and analysis, along with explanatory and investigative journalism.
Elementary STEM Journal
Full-Text: 12/1/1999-Current in eLibrary
more...less...
The Elementary STEM Journal (formerly Children's Technology and Engineering) is a dynamic, practical journal for anyone interested in technological literacy in Grades K-6.
School Administrator
Full-Text 1/1/1997-Current in ProQuest Education Database
more...less...
School Administrator is AASA's award-winning monthly magazine. It is delivered to every public school superintendent in the United States who is an AASA member and others at the cabinet-level. It provides big-picture perspectives and collegial advice on a broad range of topics specific to K-12 education and the leadership of public school districts. Jay Goldman, editor. For advertising inquires, contact Kathy Sveen.
Curriculum Review
Full-Text: 4/1/1999-Current in ProQuest Education Database
more...less...
Analytical reviews of K-12 textbooks and supplements to assist educators in the selection of instructional materials that best meet the needs of the schools and communities they serve.

Education Related Magazines

Magazines are not Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals. They are good for keeping up with news in a subject of study.

Digital Learning
Full-Text: 1/1/2009-Current in ProQuest Education Database
more...less...
The digitalLEARNING is Asia and Middle East’s premier monthly magazine on innovations in education, focussing on Information & Communication Technology’s (ICT) role in it.
Education Digest
Full-Text: 1/1/1988-Current in ProQuest Education Database
more...less...
Covers the entire education field from pre-elementary to college levels for school libraries and administrators, superintendents, supervisors and principals.
Montessori Life
Full-Text: 1/1/2003-Current in ProQuest Education Database
more...less...
Designed to provoke thought, professional growth and provide a forum for discussion of major issues & ideas in education.