Exercise Science : Reference Sources

Praise for Anatomy of Exercise: A Trainer's Inside Guide to Your Workout: "This book would be useful for anyone interested in enhancing their fitness routine as well as fitness instructors who want to visually show their customers the benefits of each exercise... recommended to medium-sized and large public libraries as well as high school and undergraduate collections."

The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine delivers more than 150 in-depth, A-to-Z entries that define and explain the many fields of specialization within sports medicine while providing broad coverage of the terms relevant to each discipline. Using everyday language, basic descriptions of various sports medicine terms introduce the reader to many important topics and provide an at-home reference that can supplement and accompany the information received from sports medicine professionals.

Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings.

This second edition is a comprehensive and easy-to-use reference source with a collection of fitness topics ranging from sports, body systems, the body's reaction to physical fitness, and exercise activities to diseases and conditions, treatments, fitness tests, and other health-related issues pertaining to exercise and fitness.

The ABC of Sports and Exercise Medicine provides general practitioners with a comprehensive overview of the field of sports medicine. This highly illustrated and thoroughly revised and updated new edition: * Reflects new developments and current practice * Includes new chapters on medical care at sporting events, environmental factors of sports and exercise, benefits of exercise in health and disease, nutrition and ergogenic supplements, and the use of drugs in sport * 

The Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training, Third Edition includes a more complete series of neurologic and musculoskeletal special tests, as well as available evidence-based data including likelihood ratios, and interrater and intrarater reliability data to support the use of each test. Additional updates include: -References to accreditation -Goniometric range of motion measures -Pharmacology -Concussion assessment protocol -The NATA's Code of Ethics The Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training, Third Edition will textually and visually provide the athletic training clinician and student with a quick overview of the essential elements of the profession

This easy-to-read, user-friendly text explores the full range of basic topics typically covered in research courses in exercise science, kinesiology, and physical education. The book provides the information and skills needed to write effective research proposals and theses; read, assess, interpret, and apply published research; and understand how to conduct basic studies in health, physical education, exercise science, athletic training, and recreation.

Understanding the Human Body is the ideal resource for students enrolled in any Anatomy and Physiology or Human Biology Course. Topics include new chapters on the digestive, respiratory, and nervous systems, as well as new content on the senses. Students will benefit from the real-world case studies discussed in the text and develop communication and critical thinking skills they will use throughout their lives.

This proven book provides an engaging, up-to-date overview of exercise science and related areas, such as athletic training and sports medicine. In every chapter, the author illustrates the importance and clinical relevance of each topic in the curriculum and gives you an insider's view of the profession through fascinating interviews and online video profiles and fieldtrips.

Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.

Sharp, clear and relevant this book meets the needs of those studying and researching within the growing discipline of sport management. The intelligently cross-referenced entries provide a concise overview of the key concepts in the field guiding you through the important debates, sources and research methods in the management and delivery of sport.

Bringing together many experts and leading scientists, the book emphasizes the current understanding of the underlying metabolic, cellular, genetic, and cell signalling mechanisms associated with physical activity, exercise, training, and athletic performance as they relate to, interact with, and regulate cellular and muscular adaptations and consequent effects on human health/disease, nutrition and weight control, and human performance. With more emphasis than ever on the need to be physically active and the role that being active plays in our overall health from a whole-body level down to the cell.