History: Searching Tips

Where can I start when I don't know what to search? 

• Look for search terms in resources that you already have available to you like your textbook, in-class readings, and suggestions from your instructors.
• Use a thesaurus in one of our Databases. In the EBSCO databases (e.g. Business Source Complete), you will find the link for that database's thesaurus at the top of the page labeled as either "Subject Index" or "Thesaurus." In the ProQuest databases (e.g. ABI/INFORM Collection) you will find the thesaurus on the Advanced Search page above the search box
• Find out what's trending by exploring topics in reference databases like CQ Researcher.
• Keep it simple when you are starting out with your research. Use one or more individual terms. Do not type you whole topic or question into the search bar. Instead, determine the most important words that you would use to describe your topic. Select a few of those terms to use in your search. Try to limit yourself to 3 or fewer search terms when first getting started. You can always narrow your search later as you learn more.

You may be familiar with Keywords and Subject Terms, but MeSH Subject Headings can help you narrow your search even further. These are more specific than the subject terms you use when searching in Discovery on the library website. They apply specifically to medical literature. CINAHL has a "CINAHL Subject Headings" feature that allows you to search using MeSH search terms within CINAHL. However, you can also use MeSH terms when searching other medical databases, PubMed, and when using Discovery. 

Moye Library provides full-text access that will meet most of your research needs. However, you may want to familiarize yourself with National Library of Medicine searching tools that will be available to you throughout your academic and professional careers. One of these resources is PubMed. PubMed is updated weekly The QuickStart Guide on the left side of the PubMed homepage (link provided below) will give you instructions on getting started with this resource. 

Why would I use PubMed? 

I want to run a very specific query using PubMed's query features. For instructions different PubMed queries and how to run them, visit PubMed Special Queries.

I want to find citations for the most recent literature related to a specific MeSH subject heading. 

I want to see which articles are trending in the medical research community. 

I want to be sure I have the correct information for an article that I am requesting via Interlibrary Loan. 

Why would I search in PubMed if it does not provide full-text access? 

Articles may be indexed without full access for many reasons. Our Discovery searching system has thousands of full-text articles, but it also searches for and finds the citation information for articles held by libraries worldwide. It is impossible for one library to hold every available article, but having access to titles and abstracts of articles at other libraries  gives you a more accurate picture of the research in your field. Unlike ProQuest or CINAHL, PubMed does not publish articles. It will link to the full-text of the article if that article has been made publicly accessible, but most medical literature is not publicly available. You can search in PubMed and use Journal Finder or our Discovery searching system to find the full-text article at Moye Library.*

 *If we do not have an article, we can request it for you through Interlibrary Loan. This is usually simple and free.