LibGuides: Nursing and Health Sciences Research Methods: Where to Search

Searching in WorldCat Discovery

WorldCat Discovery is the search engine that searches the library catalog. It can be useful for getting started with your research. However, as you look for more specific materials, you may find that a subject-specific database is more useful to you. To get to the Advanced Search in WorldCat Discovery, got the library webpage and select "Advanced Search." When using the Advanced Search for nursing and health sciences resources, use the database selection tool to include all databases under the "Nursing" category on the right side of the Advanced Search page.

Nursing and Health Sciences Databases

Nursing

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals. Some full-text, peer-reviewed articles and preprints (articles that have been submitted for peer-review, but have not completed the review process) are included in this database. If you need an article that is not available in full text, ask a librarian for assistance.

Health Sciences

These databases are not nursing-specific, but may also be useful for nursing research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The leading resource for scholarly research covering a majority of academic topics.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials.
Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements.
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
PsychINFO This link opens in a new window
With nearly 4 million bibliographic records centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences, the interdisciplinary content in PsycINFO® makes it one of the most highly utilized databases by students, researchers, educators, and practitioners worldwide.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.