What is a Reference Source?
A reference source is a resource that can give you basic, introductory information on a topic. These include resources like encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and other resources containing reliable basic information about a subject.
How to Use a Reference Source
Reference sources are useful for giving you a general introduction to a topic that you are not familiar with, finding information on basic concepts (like how a scientific process works or general information about a medical condition). Reference sources can also be useful for finding keywords.
Terminology
- Introduction to MeSHan introduction to Medical Subject Headings from the National Library of Medicine
- MeSH BrowserUse this tool to look up MeSH subject headings. Use the "Tree View" at the upper left of the page to browse MeSH subject headings by category.
Reference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers over 3,000,000 reference entries from all the major academic subject areas serving as a great starting point for your research. Includes tons of images, audio files, videos and full-text articles on any topic you can think of with full citations.
Reference Books
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing Informatics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781609600365Publication Date: 2010-10-31Because of the constant advances and dynamics within the nascent field of nursing informatics, many nurses struggle in practice as they continue to try and apply habitual communication practices in the new environment without any critical reflection on, and adaptation of, those practices. Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing Informatics: Concepts and Applications serves as a valuable asset for nurses, administrators and practitioners who want to improve their understanding of nursing informatics. Critiquing fundamental concepts such as evidence based practice, and examining possible applications of such concepts in the contemporary context of nursing informatics, this text offers chapter and case studies focusing on technology s contributions to nursing theory and practice, nursing systems management, and decision-support in nursing."
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781414498959Publication Date: 2013-06-01This set provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and respiratory therapy.
Healthcare Management and Economics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781466639836Publication Date: 2013-04-30The long-standing debate on public vs. private healthcare systems has forced an examination of these organizations, in particular whether these approaches play corresponding or conflicting roles in service to global citizens. Healthcare Management and Economics: Perspectives on Public and Private Administration discusses public and private healthcare organizations by gathering perspectives on the differences in service, management, delivery, and efficiency. Highlighting the impact of citizens and information technology in these healthcare processes, this book is a vital collection of research for practitioners, academics, and scholars in the healthcare management field.- Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780028659169Publication Date: 2004-02-01Medical and scientific technology allow us to significantly alter aspects of human life. In this constantly changing field of bioethics, issues are constantly evolving and these issues are discussed in this volume. Issues such as: cloning, stem cell research and same-sex marriage are discussed.
