Recreation & Leisure: Reference Sources

This second edition is a comprehensive and easy-to-use reference source with a collection of fitness topics ranging from sports, body systems, the body's reaction to physical fitness, and exercise activities to diseases and conditions, treatments, fitness tests, and other health-related issues pertaining to exercise and fitness.

The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine delivers more than 150 in-depth, A-to-Z entries that define and explain the many fields of specialization within sports medicine while providing broad coverage of the terms relevant to each discipline. Using everyday language, basic descriptions of various sports medicine terms introduce the reader to many important topics and provide an at-home reference that can supplement and accompany the information received from sports medicine professionals.

The Encyclopedia of International Games captures (in one alphabetical sequence) the histories of these games, many of them for the first time. The work includes major regional events such as the African, Asian, Arab, South Pacific, and Pan American Games; competitions such as the Indian Ocean Island Games, Arctic Winter Games, Island Games, and Games of the Small Countries of Europe; specific populations or professions such as the North American Indigenous Games, Maccabiah Games, World Military Games, World Police and Fire Games, and World Medical and Health Games; and Special Olympics, the Paralympics, games for the blind, and other regional games.

The atlas traces the emergence of sport in its modern forms, and features all established Olympic sports and sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but not included in the Olympic programme, as well as sports with their own cultural and organizational base and commercial momentum.

This A-to-Z format biographical dictionary covers notable American women in sports - both athletes and coaches - and is inclusive regionally, chronologically, and multiculturally.

Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.

Sharp, clear and relevant this book meets the needs of those studying and researching within the growing discipline of sport management. The intelligently cross-referenced entries provide a concise overview of the key concepts in the field guiding you through the important debates, sources and research methods in the management and delivery of sport.

Written by experienced academics use to teaching the subject, this book will help students and researchers find their way within the diverse field of sport studies.