Skip to Main Content
644 James B. Hunt Dr.
Mount Olive, NC 28365
(919) 658-7869
More Hours

Women in the Bible: Bible Commentaries

This guide is for the course REL 205

Approved Bible Commentaries

  • Anchor Bible
  • Broadman
  • Cambridge
  • Interpretation
  • Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching
  • Interpreter's Bible
  • The New Interpreter's Bible
  • The Old Testament Library
  • The Oxford Bible Commentary
  • Smyth & Helwys

If you are an online student and cannot visit Moye Library to access these Bible Commentaries, you may request scans of the commentary that you are looking for by emailing Reference & Instruction Librarian Wes Warren at jwarren@umo.edu with the Bible Commentary name, the Bible Book, and the Chapter. This duplication of copyrighted material is for educational uses only, thus it falls under the purview of Fair Use. (

Bible Commentaries at Other Libraries in North Carolina

Approved Bible Commentaries Held in Libraries Near UMO Locations

The list of commentaries approved by the Department of Religion are often considered Reference Materials and may not be checked out of the library. If they can be checked out, you will probably need to be a registered user of that library. Check-out policies vary for each library.

Select the North Carolina location nearest to you using the tabs on the right to see a list of libraries with available materials. 

Onslow County Library

Anchor Bible

  • Genesis
  • John
  • Luke

Link to search results and availability. 

Cambridge

  • 1-2 Corinthians

Link to search results and availability. 

Craven Pamlico Carteret County Library

Interpreter's Bible

  • Multiple volumes. 

The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible

Link to search results and availability. 

Layman's Bible (3 vols.)

  • Psalms
  • Romans, 1 Corinthians
  • Hebrews, James, 1 & 2 Peter

Link to search results and availability. 
Daily Study Bible Series 

  • Philippians, Colossians and Thessalonians
  • Galatians and Ephesians
  • Gospel of John
  • Letters of John and Jude

Link to search results and availability. 

Cape Fear Community College Library

Interpreter's Bible (12 vols. Full set.)

Interpreter's Bible Dictionary

These are available for IN LIBRARY USE ONLY. 

Link to full text and availability. 

New Hanover County Public Library

Anchor Bible (28 vols. Full set.)

Link to full text and availability. 


New Interpreter's Bible (12 vols. Full set.)

These are available for IN LIBRARY USE ONLY. 

Link to full text and availability. 

UNC Wilmington Library
 

Cambridge (13 vols. Full set.)

Link to search results and availability.


Layman’s Bible commentary (1 vol.)

  • Isaiah

Link to search results and availability. 

New Century Bible commentary (3 vols.)

  • Gospel of Matthew
  • Acts
  • Gospel of mark 

Link to search results and availability. 

New Interpreter’s Bible (12 vols.)
Link to search results and availability. 

Daily Study Bible series (4 vols.)
Link to search results and availability. 

Old Testament library (28 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

Word Biblical Commentary

  • Revelation
  • Mark 1

Link to search results and availability. 

Duke University

Available at the divinity school library for in-library use only. Link to Duke Divinity School library website: http://library.divinity.duke.edu/. 

Anchor Bible (1vol.)

  • Mark

Link to search results and availability. 

Broadman (3 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 
 

Cambridge (multiple vols.)

Link to search results and availability. Not every book in this list of search results is a commentary. Check the titles for more information. 
Harper’s New Testament Commentary (13 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 
Interpretation (48 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

New Interpreter’s Bible (39 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

John Knox Preaching guide (14 vols.)
Link to search results and availability. 

Moffatt Bible (2 vols.)

  • Paul
  • John

Link to search results and availability.

New Century Bible (3 vols.)

  • Daniel
  • Leviticus
  • Matthew

Link to search results and availability for Daniel, Leviticus, and Matthew. 

Ancient Christian Texts series (7 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 
 

Daily Study Bible Series (33 vols.)
Link to search results and availability. 

Old Testament Library (15 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

Smyth & Helwys (26 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 
 

Word Biblical Commentary (72 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

 

UNC Chapel Hill

Anchor Bible Commentary

Link to search results and availability. 

Anchor Bible Dictionary

Link to search results and availability. 

Broadman (6 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 
 

Cambridge (8 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

Harper’s New Testament Commentary (11 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 
 

Interpretation (35 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

Layman’s Bible Commentary (6 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

John Knox Preaching guide (2 vols.)

  • Galatians/Romans
  • Hebrews

Link to search results and availability. 

The Expositor's Bible Commentary (in print and online) 

Link to search results and availability. 

Moffatt Bible (1 vol.)

  • Hebrews

Link to search results and availability.

New Century Bible (8 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

New Interpreter’s Bible (12 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

Daily Study Bible Series (12 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

Old Testament Library (58 vols.)

Link to search results and availability. 

​Word Biblical Commentary (43 vols.) 

Link to search results and availability. 

 

Wake County Public Library
 

New Interpreter’s Bible 

Items are in various library branches and are in-library use only. 

Link to search results and availability. 

Beaufort-Hyde-Martin Regional Library

Interpreter's Bible (24 vols. Full set.)

Link to search results and availability. 

Brown Library 

Anchor Bible (3 vols.)

  • Hosea
  • Genesis
  • Hebrews

Link to search results and availability. 

Interpreter's Bible (12 vols. Full set.)

Link to search results and availability. 

ECU - Joyner Library

Anchor Bible Dictionary

Anchor Bible Commentary 

  • Ezra, Nehemiah
  • Ezekiel 
  • Gospel of John 
  • 1 Chronicles 
  • 1 Kings
  • The Epistles of James, Peter, and Jude
  • Amos
  • Hebrews
  • Jonah
  • Mark 

Link to search results and availability. 

Cambridge

Link to search results and availability. 

Interpretation

Link to search results and availability. 

New Interpreter’s Bible (12 vols. Full set.)

Link to search results and availability. 

Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible

Link to search results and availability. 

Layman’s Bible Commentary (22 vols. Full set.)

Link to search results and availability. 
New Century Bible Commentary

  • Daniel

Link to search results and availability. 

Daily Study Bible series (20 vols. Full set.)

Link to search results and availability. 
 

Old Testament library (18 vols.)

Link to search results and availability.

Citations for Bible Commentaries