LibGuides: Nursing: Articles

Nursing Specific Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals. Some full-text, peer-reviewed articles and preprints (articles that have been submitted for peer-review, but have not completed the review process) are included in this database. If you need an article that is not available in full text, ask a librarian for assistance.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials.
Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements.
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.

Nursing Related Databases

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Content is focused on technology, industry, and innovation.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to more than 80 full-text consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times and many others. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and 110 full-text health reference books.
PsychINFO This link opens in a new window
With nearly 4 million bibliographic records centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences, the interdisciplinary content in PsycINFO® makes it one of the most highly utilized databases by students, researchers, educators, and practitioners worldwide.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The leading resource for scholarly research covering a majority of academic topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.
MasterFILE Premier
General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Provides libraries with a wealth of resources in the fields of education, general science, humanities, social sciences and much more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Selected Nursing Scholarly Journals

American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing (AAACN) Viewpoint
Full-Text: 7/1/2001-Current in ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database
more...less...
Upd-to-date information on current topics in ambulatory care nursing.
Clinical Nursing Research
(Offered through Independent Journal Website)
more...less...
Clinical Nursing Research (CNR) is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal that addresses issues of clinical research that are meaningful to practicing nurses, providing an international forum to encourage discussion among clinical practitioners, enhance clinical practice by pinpointing potential clinical applications of the latest scholarly research, and disseminate research findings of particular interest to practicing nurses.
Journal of Emergency Nursing
Full-Text: 11/1/2013-Lack of last 2 months in ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database
more...less...
The Journal of Emergency Nursing, the official journal of the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA), is committed to the dissemination of high quality, peer-reviewed manuscripts relevant to all areas of emergency nursing practice.
Journal of Nursing Education
Full-Text; 12/01/1962-Current with some exceptions in ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database
more...less...
Provides a forum for original articles and new ideas for nursing educators in various types and levels of nursing programs.
Journal of Nursing Scholarship
Full-Text: 1/1/1998-Current in ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database
more...less...
Reaching health professionals, faculty and students in 103 countries, the Journal of Nursing Scholarship is focused on health of people throughout the world. It is the official journal of Sigma Theta Tau International and it reflects the society’s dedication to providing the tools necessary to improve nursing care around the world.
Journal of the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care
(Offered through Independent Journal Website)
more...less...
The Journal of the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (JANAC) is a peer-reviewed, international nursing journal that covers the full spectrum of the global HIV epidemic, focusing on prevention, evidence-based care management, interprofessional clinical care, research, advocacy, policy, education, social determinants of health, epidemiology, and program development.
Nursing Education Perspectives
Full-Text: 1/1/2001-11/1/2018 in ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database
Nursing Research and Practice
Full-Text: 1/1/2010-Current in Academic Search Complete
more...less...
Provides information about all areas of nursing and includes case reports and clinical studies.
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
Full-Text: 1/1/2002-Current in CINAHL Ultimate
more...less...
Provides a forum to exchange ideas & data about topics that affect nursing practice, education & research. Addresses major health care concerns for health care professionals. Is explored form a variety of viewpoints.