Linking to Materials from Moye Library for Off-Campus Access
Linking to Content Using the Library Catalog Record Link (easiest option)
Find the item that you would like to include in your materials in the library catalog. To do this, go to the search box on the library homepage and enter the title of the item you want to locate. You may need to change the filter on the search results page to relevance under Sort By (pictured below).
To include a catalog link, please do the following.
- Search for the material you are looking for in the library catalog. Most material is searchable in Worldcat with some rare exceptions.
- Find the catalog record you are interested in including and the link button for the catalog record (pictured below).
- Copy and paste the link to share. (Sharing via email is also an option for the catalog record link using the "email" button, but this email will come from the library catalog and does not allow replies to the email.)
The option of linking to the catalog record has several benefits. These include:
- Fewer potential issues with vendor changes to content. (If we provide the resource through multiple vendors and one vendor pulls the resource, it will still be available through the other vendors.)
- Automatic redirection and authentication through the proxy
Things to keep in mind:
- Our catalog finds most of our content, but there may be exceptions.
- Our catalog also finds content provided by other libraries that we do not have access to directly. If an item is not listed as full-text and does not have a full text access button at the bottom of the catalog record, it is usually not available.
- Occasionally, vendor updates do not sync with the catalog, so please check that the item is accessible before linking to it.
Not all of our electronic resources are licensed for unlimited use. Materials provided by vendors change periodically. Please take this into account when assigning materials. Always check your links for functionality, especially if requiring off campus access to content. Always use links to library materials rather than uploading PDF documents.
Linking to Content Using a Permalink to an Individual Record
- Link directly to the work using the permalink and make sure that it includes the UMO proxy stanza, https://proxy.umo.edu/login?url=
- If the proxy stanza is NOT included at the beginning of the link, off-campus access will not be available.
- Below is an example of a proxy-enabled permalink from Films on Demand:
- https://proxy.umo.edu/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103096&xtid=160903.
Where are the permalinks?
In EBSCO Databases
Most databases have a permalink button. This link usually includes the proxy, use this option. See example below:
Most other databases have a permalink button of some sort. Please let us know if you have any questions about how to link and where to find the permalink for a resource. When providing access to students off-campus, please check to see that the proxy stanza is included and correct in the link that you are adding. If not, add it and check the link for on and off network access before providing the link to students.
Nexis Uni Example
Accessing Nexis Uni On-Campus Without Proxy
When accessed on-campus, Nexis Uni doesn't include the proxy stanza, so the stanza will need to be added at the head of the link.
Accessing Nexis Uni Off-Campus With Proxy
When accessed off-campus going through the proxy, Nexis Uni includes the proxy stanza. Notice that the stanza isn't at the head of the link, but in the middle. This method works the exact same as adding the proxy stanza at the head of the link.
Ebook Central Example
Accessing Ebook Central On-Campus Without Proxy
See notes above for Nexis Uni without the proxy stanza at the head of the link
Accessing Ebook Central Off-Campus With Proxy
See notes about the proxy stanza in the middle of the link above under the Nexis Uni examples.
In ProQuest Databases
In most ProQuest article databases, there is no permalink button. You can usually find the permalink from the ProQuest article from the Article Details page. You can then add the proxy stanza. See below for an example:
The proxy stanza for Proquest Databases still read "ezproxy." Until that is fixed, you will need to delete the "ez" from "ezproxy" for the link to work.
Linking to Video Content in Films on Demand
Films on Demand Content can be linked or embedded directly into Moodle. Our subscription to Films on Demand includes public performance rights so films in this collection can be shown in classes, student groups, etc. as long as the use is noncommercial (i.e. does not charge for viewing).
For more information on the rights and limitations of Films on Demand, please see their Terms of Service.
Films on Demand has multiple options for sharing content. These include:
- linking to the page for the content in Films on Demand
- embedding the content directly into Moodle
- using a link designed for LTI (Moodle) integration Recommended
In the example above, the included proxy stanza is highlighted to show what a link looks like when the proxy stanza is included. ALL links to individual materials should look this way to facilitate off-campus access.
Best Practices for Including Content in Moodle
Please note that this information is not intended as legal advice and is for informational purposes only. These are helpful guidelines, but do not necessarily represent all of the considerations that need to be made when assessing whether a resource may be used legally. All legal questions should be directed to an intellectual property attorney.
-
Do NOT upload PDFs directly to Moodle (or anywhere else).
-
While uploading PDFs is easy, it is not in line with best practice. It also does not take into account our licensing agreements with our publishers. Sometimes a publisher stops providing an article and we are no longer licensed to provide the content as a library. Often, this content will be duplicated by another publisher. Linking directly to the catalog record of an item will ensure simple off-campus access and mitigate any issues with changes in content vendors. It will also retain any accessibility features and protection measures currently in place by the resource vendor.
-
-
Assessing whether resources may be used in a course legally is the sole responsibility of the individual creating the course content. The library is not responsible for content included in Moodle or any other CMS.
-
Make sure that anyone accessing your course materials knows that they cannot distribute these materials in any manner. Students must not copy or distribute works provided for their course.
-
Do not convert analog materials to a digital format for online courses. Any use of copyrighted materials must be assessed for compliance with Fair Use guidelines. Compliance with the TEACH Act requires that certain institutional qualifications are met. Please ensure that your institution is able to apply the TEACH Act before using it in an assessment.
-
Document your Fair Use assessments. The tools in the Research Guides listed below can provide information on this process, but are not intended to be taken as legal advice.
-
Include a copyright notice on ALL copyrighted materials that do not already include this statement. Works that are published openly (Open Access, Creative Commons Licensing, etc.) do not need a copyright notice, but proper reuse of these materials and proper attribution of these materials should be maintained. (Further guidance is available on the Open Educational Resources research guide at left.) The copyright notice should state the following:
-
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.
“Copyright Law of the United States of America and Related Laws Contained in Title 17 of the United States Code – Chapter 5.” U.S. Copyright Office, http://www.copyright.gov/title17/92chap5.html. Accessed 19 Dec.2017.
-
Requesting Library Instruction for Classes (for instructors)
Individual and group project help is available using the information in the How to Get Research Help section of this guide. To request a digital tutorial or a virtual library instruction session for your class, please use the document below. Please email the completed forms to Jackie Hill at JHill@umo.edu.
- Request a Video Tutorial Electronic FormUse this form to request a video tutorial for your class.
- Request an IL Session Electronic FormYou may fill out an electronic request form at this link.
