How to Make a Research Consultation Appointment
Appointments are not required, but our Research Help form will help you make an appointment in advance that works with your schedule.
Go to Quicklinks on the right side of the library homepage and click 1-on1 Research Help. This form goes directly to your Research Librarian and will include your preferred dates/times to meet, your preferred meeting format, and any files (like your syllabus or research outline) or notes (like your assignment description) that you want to add.
If you do not hear back in 1 business day during weekdays please email your librarian directly at jhill@umo.edu.
Research help is available in-person and virtually. This specific form is for help requested 24-48 hours in advance. If you need immediate assistance, please email Moye Library directly during open hours or use Library Chat during closed hours.
Finding Business Articles in WorldCat Discovery
WorldCat Discovery is Moye Library's main searching tool. It is like Google for libraries, but it has some unique searching features that you won't find in an internet search tool. It combines ALL of the information available in our library and in other libraries that use WorldCat. WorldCat Discovery is useful for finding specific resources, getting started with your research, and for getting a general overview of research in your field. WorldCat is very general in its searching features so the options to narrow your search will be less subject-specific than the options available in specific business databases. Below are some tips and tricks for finding business-related research in WorldCat Discovery.
Getting To and Using the Advanced Search Option: A Review for Bussiness Students
You can use the main search box (pictured above) or choose the Advanced Search link (highlighted above) to search WorldCat Discovery. Choosing Advanced Search will allow you to search for more specific material. Below, you will see the option to select "Business and Management" as a database category. Select this category and scroll up to the top right side of the page to "Save Changes." 
Once you have selected the Business and Management category, business databases will show up under the list of databases that you will be using in your search. (An example of this is pictured below.) The highlighted databases below indicate the databases that include peer-reviewed articles. 
Once you have selected your databases, you are ready to begin your search! In this Advanced Search example (below) the Search Index for each Search Term has been changed to Keyword. Keyword is the broadest category in the Advanced Search option and is useful for searching by topic. You do not have to include a keyword in every search box. If you decide to include the subject
Filter your Results
Filter your results using the options on the left of your search result screen. If you are on a phone or tablet, these may appear at the top of the page in a dropdown. Be sure to use the highlighted filters described below to find peer-reviewed articles that are available for immediate download.
Finding Articles in Bussiness Databases
Most business databases have a basic and advanced search option. The difference is that some subject-specific databases will also have specific features focused on the topic that they cover. For example, a business database might allow you to search by a NAICS code or limit your results to SWOT analyses.
Business Databases: Best Bet
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWith premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is the essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Other Useful Databases
- Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowArticles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.
- Data-Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new windowFormerly ReferenceUSA. Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
- Full List of Individual Business and Management DatabasesThis link provides a full list of AtoZ Databases that are related to the topics of business and management.
